Impero Classroom now allows you to select the type of screen share permission that is enforced on devices running ChromeOS. These devices have two types of screen sharing available and this article explains the differences between them.

 

Full-screen sharing - Full-screen sharing displays the complete desktop of a ChromeOS device to the user, including popups, notifications, and application windows that are displayed. Fullscreen sharing CAN NOT be forced on and instead displays a message to the student user asking them to share the screen.

 

Active tab sharing - Active tab sharing displays the content of the active browser tab (the web browser tab the user has selected and is looking at) of a ChromeOS device to the user. We can only see the content of that web page so elements of the browser such as the URL bar and menus are not visible. We also do not see content outside of the browser such as notifications and app windows. Active tab sharing CAN be forced on and displays no message to the student to share as sharing happens automatically once logged in and connected to Impero Classroom.

 

Impero Classroom offers 3 options for enforcing the screen sharing permissions listed above.

 

Ask Once - Request screen share permission, but fall back to active tab view if it is declined by the student.
This option presents the student with a request to share the screen which they can accept or decline. If they accept then we display the full screen of the ChromeOS device. If they deny then we use the active tab permission to show the browser without prompting the student. The student won't be asked to share their screen again until they complete a logout/login cycle on the device.
 

Ask Again - If the student declined the screen share request, ask again. Active tab view is used until accepted.
This option will keep requesting the full-screen share permission from students if they decline. The permission will continue to appear if the student clicks cancel to the request. We also display a full-screen message encouraging the student to accept the permission. The active tab permission is used until the permission is accepted by the student.
 

Never Ask - Don't ask for full-screen share permission and just use the active tab view. No permission is required.
This option does not ask the student to share the screen and uses active tab sharing to display the live view. We don't see the full screen so miss notifications or Chrome apps for example but provides a seamless connection that doesn't require student interaction.


 

Changing Chrome Screen Share Permissions

 

1. Sign in using an account that has access to the "Administration" section.

 

2. Click on "Administration" from the main menu.

 

3. The Chrome Screen Share Permissions are displayed here. Any changes to the permission are automatically saved.

 

 

Please Note

Changes to the permission only take effect on the ChromeOS device once the user has completed a logout and login. Closing the lid of a Chromebook and then signing back in (soft log) will not force a permission change to the client.