You can control who can view concern types using permissions in each User Group under the Administration section.
If you select that a user group can and view Child Protection concerns then anyone in that group will be able to see concerns added under that category.
Notification Alerts and Email change how this works. If you send an alert to a user group or staff member this will override any viewing permissions. This means if you have set a user group to receive alerts for Child Protection they will be able to view it even if View Concerns is not checked.
Once someone has been alerted to a concern it cannot be withdrawn so make sure you are happy with the settings you have for each user group. You can always alert individuals or a user group to each concern as necessary. We would recommend that DSLs received immediate alerts for Child Protection concerns but might find digest emails more appropriate for first aid for example.