The first step in using Impero class:room is viewing a group of devices. To do this follow the steps below.


1. Log in to Impero back:drop.

2. Click on 'Children' from the main menu.

3. Select the group of students you wish to view by clicking on the group name.

4. Click 'View Live Devices' button.

Devices associated with students in the selected group will display within the classroom manager screen.




Screen Sharing Permissions


In order to support the viewing of screens in real time within Impero classroom the device clients for Chrome, Android and iOS have a screen sharing permission. This permission must be accepted for the Impero classroom user to view the screen.


ChromeOS

The ChromeOS client only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero once the child has accepted the screen sharing permission dialog. Accepting the permission will allow for the ChromeOS screen to be displayed in the classroom. On ChromeOS the permission is triggered when using the view live devices action. Once accepted all teachers who have access to the child will be able to view the screen. If the child refuses the permission it will be requested again until they accept. The child will be asked to share the screen each time they login to Impero.


iOS

 
The iOS platform only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero once the end user has accepted the record screen permission. The permission will appear when a teacher tires to view the iOS device in Impero. Accepting the permission will allow for the iOS screen to be displayed in the classroom. On the iOS platform the permission is triggered by the first user that views the device and once accepted all other teachers will be able to view the screen until the app is closed. If the end user refuses the permission, the iOS device will not show its screen but all actions in will still be supported such as lock screen and send message.

Once the user has accepted or refused the permission, iOS will retain the choice until the application is closed and restarted. The user will then be asked permission again when the next teacher tries to view the device. 



Android 7, 8 and 9

The Android platform only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero classroom once the end user has accepted the “screen capturing” dialog that will appear when a teacher tires to view the Android device in Impero classroom. Accepting the permission will allow for the Android screen to be displayed in the classroom. On the Android platform the permission is triggered by every user that views the device so the permission dialog has a “don’t ask again” option. Once selected the Android client will automatically accept or deny the permission request based on the selection made. If the end user refuses the permission, the Android device will not show its screen in the classroom but all actions in classroom will still be supported such as lock screen and send message.
Once the user has accepted or refused the permission with the “don’t ask again” option selected, Android will retain the choice until that application is closed and restarted. The user will then be asked permission again when the next classroom user tries to view the device. If the end user does not select the “don’t ask again” option, then they will be asked the screen sharing permission every time a classroom user views the device.



Android 10

 
The Android platform only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero classroom once the end user has accepted the casting/recording permission. The permission will appear when a teacher tires to view the Android device in Impero. Accepting the permission will allow for the Android screen to be displayed in the classroom. On the Android platform the permission is triggered by the first user that views the device and once accepted all other teachers will be able to view the screen until the app is closed or all teachers stop viewing the device. If the end user refuses the permission, the Android device will not show its screen but all actions in will still be supported such as lock screen and send message.

Once the user has accepted or refused the permission, Android will retain the choice until the application is closed and restarted or all teachers stop viewing the device.