Impero Classroom now allows you to select the type of screen share permission that is enforced on device running ChromeOS. These devices have two types of screen sharing available and this article explains the differences between them.

 

Full screen sharing - Full screen sharing displays the complete desktop of a ChromeOS device to the user, including and popups, notifications and application windows that are displayed. Full screen sharing CANNOT be forced on and instead displays a message to the student user asking them to share the screen.

 

Active tab sharing - Active tab sharing displays the content of the active browser tab (the web browser tab the user has selected and is looking at) of a ChromeOS device to the user. We can only see the content of that web page so elements of the browser such as the URL bar and menus are not visible. We also do not see content outside of the browser such as notifications and app windows. Active tab sharing CAN be forced on and displays no message to the student to share as sharing happens automatically once logged in and connected to Impero class:room.

 

Impero Classroom offers 3 options for enforcing the screen sharing permissions listed above.

 

Ask - Request screen share permission but fall back to active tab view if it is declined by the student.
This option presents the student with a request to share the screen which they can accept or decline. If they accept then we display the full screen of the ChromeOS device. If they deny then we use the active tab permission to show the browser without prompting the student.
 

Force - Student must give screen share permission or the device is unusable.
This option forces the student to accept the screen share permission so we can see the full screen. The student isn't allowed to decline the request, if they do then we keep asking again until they accept.
 

Never - Don't ask for full screen share permission and just use the active tab view.
This option does not ask the student to share the screen and uses active tab sharing to display the live view. We don't see the full screen so miss notifications or Chrome apps for example but provides a seamless connection that doesn't require student interaction.

 

Changing Chrome Screen Share Permissions

 

1. Sign in using an account that access to the "Administration" section.

 

2. Click on "Administration" from the main menu.

 

3. The Chrome Screen Share Permissions are displayed here. Any changes to the permission are automatically saved.

 

 

Please Note

Changes to the permission only take effect on the ChromeOS device once the user has completed a logout and login. Closing the lid of a Chromebook and then signing back in (soft log) are not force a permission change to the client.