Screen sharing permissions are part of the User privacy policies introduced and enforced by manufacturers such as Apple or Google to increase security and transparency in regards to privacy-related data and or resources and how they are used. Such policies help ensure that first-party and third-party applications notify and request from the user what type of data it's going to use.
In order to support the viewing of screens in real-time within Impero classroom the device clients for Chrome, Android and iOS have a screen sharing permission. This permission must be accepted for the Impero classroom user to view the screen.
ChromeOS has the option to share the full screen of the Chromebook with Classroom if the screen sharing permission is accepted. The ChromeOS client only allows for the sharing of the full screen with Impero once the child has accepted the screen sharing permission dialog. Accepting the permission will allow for the ChromeOS screen to be displayed in the classroom. On ChromeOS the permission is triggered when the child logs in to Impero. Once accepted all teachers who have access to the child will be able to view the screen. If the child refuses the permission it will be requested again until they accept. The child will be asked to share the screen each time they log in to Impero.
The option to share the active tab live view is available and does not require a permission to be accepted by the student. This option can be configured on a school by school basis.
The Android platform only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero classroom once the end user has accepted the “screen capturing” dialog that will appear when a backdrop user tries to view the Android device in Impero classroom. Accepting the permission will allow for the Android screen to be displayed in the classroom. On the Android platform the permission is triggered by every user that views the device so the permission dialog has a “Don’t ask again” option. Once selected the Android client will automatically accept or deny the permission request based on the selection made. If the end user refuses the permission, the Android device will not show its screen in the classroom but all actions in classroom will still be supported such as lock screen and send message.
Once the user has accepted or refused the permission with the “Don’t ask again” option selected, Android will retain the choice until that application is closed and restarted. The user will then be asked permission again when the next classroom user tries to view the device. If the end user does not select the “don’t ask again” option, then they will be asked the screen sharing permission every time a classroom user views the device.
This only seems to happen when I select an individual device i.e. not when viewing the entire class
Google have made changes to screen sharing permissions from Android 10. The option to "Don't show again" has been removed so now the screen share permission will be asked at the beginning of each Classroom session, likely at the start of every school lesson. The screen share permission triggers when the teacher user tries to view the Android device in Classroom. If the permission is accepted then the live view is displayed and maintained until the teacher user stops viewing the device. This means if the teacher closes the browser with Classroom and opens it again, then the screen share permission will be triggered again for all students in the class. If the screenshare permission is rejected then the live view is not displayed and the device will not display and no actions can be performed against it. A refresh of the web browser with Classroom will re-trigger the permission request, in case some users rejected it by mistake.
The iOS platform only allows for the sharing of the screen with Impero once the end-user has accepted the record screen permission. The permission will appear when a teacher tires to view the iOS device in Impero. Accepting the permission will allow for the iOS screen to be displayed in the classroom. On the iOS platform the permission is triggered by the first user that views the device and once accepted all other teachers will be able to view the screen until the app is closed. If the end-user refuses the permission, the iOS device will not show its screen but all actions in will still be supported such as lock screen and send message.
Once the user has accepted or refused the permission, iOS will retain the choice until that application is closed and restarted. The user will then be asked permission again when the next teacher tries to view the device.