Many browsers offer private browsing: an option to prevent that your website visits or downloads are recorded in your browsing and download histories. 

 

In Google Chrome the private browsing option is called Incognito mode

 

When students using Chrome enable Incognito mode on Vision student computers, the unfortunate side-effect is that Vision Filter Web commands – resource lists and block lists - do not work or have unpredictable results. This leaves students free to access any sites with teachers still believing that they have full control.

 

To ensure that teachers using Vision remain in control of students' Internet access during class, the Vision student module installation disables Incognito mode on student computers.

 

For students using Chrome this means that they no longer have the command New incognito window available on the browser toolbar.